The Group of European Municipalities with Nuclear Facilities is a not-for-profit association of municipalities and associations of municipalities with nuclear facilities across European countries.


GMF has elected a President and three vice-presidents. The current President is the Mayor of Kävlinge in Sweden, Ms. Pia Almström.
Vice-presidents are Mr. Csaba Dohóczki, Head of communication at PIP Regional Development Company for Paks2 NPP in Hungary, Mr. Philip Matthews, Executive Director of NuLeAF from the United Kingdom and Mr. Gerben Dijksterhuis, mayor from Borsele in the Netherlands.

Ms. Pia Almström

Mr. Csaba Dohóczki

Mr. Philip Matthews

Mr. Gerben Dijksterhuis

Currently GMF is supported by municipalities with nuclear facilities from Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Finland, Hungary, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

GMF was formally established in 2000 to promote the involvement of the local level in nuclear governance.

Our primary objectives are: